Blackburn Vannoy Farm Management Committee

 

Management of the Blackburn‐Vannoy lands and buildings is guided by the terms of the Reeves and Beulah Blackburn wills and the conservation easement that the Vannoys established through Blue Ridge Conservancy. Those documents establish the primary guiding principles for the management of the property, but numerous decisions regarding specific research projects, farming, grazing, cattle management, and restoration plans for buildings on the property must be made on a regular basis.

The Blackburn‐Vannoy Farm Management Committee (BVFMC) is responsible for developing recommendations for the ongoing protection and use of the property. Recommendations from the BVFMC go to the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and to the Provost. Those administrators can be expected to approve all recommendations from the BVFMC except where safety, personnel, or fiscal concerns might require them to over‐rule those recommendations.

Membership on the BVFMC will represent a wide range of constituencies on campus, as many departments and programs will have an interest in engaging in teaching, research, and service at the Blackburn‐Vannoy Farm.

Committee Member List

 Committee MemberDepartment RepresentingEmail Address
Voting MembersKristen B. DeathridgeHistorybaldwindeathridgekd@appstate.edu
Lanae BallNutrition & Health Care Managementballkl@appstate.edu
Sarah CarmichaelGeologycarmichaelsk@appstate.edu
Susan DollBuilding Sciencedollsc@appstate.edu
Lynn DuryeaArtduryeal@appstate.edu
Tom HansellAppalachian Studieshansellts@appstate.edu
Jim HouserAppropriate Technologyhouserjb@appstate.edu
Carol KlineManagementklinecs@appstate.edu
Brooke KornegaySustainable Developmentkornegayba@appstate.edu
Sandra LubarskySustainable Developmentlubarskysb@appstate.edu
Mike MadritchBiologymadritchmd@appstate.edu
Jessica MitchellGeographymitchelljj@appstate.edu
Julia PedigoHayes School of Musicpedigoja@appstate.edu
Neva SpechtCollege of Arts and Sciences / Historyspechtnj@appstate.edu
Non-Voting MembersMike MayfieldVice Provost for Undergraduate Educationmayfldmw@appstate.edu
Eric HieglBlue Ridge Conservancy Representativeeric@blueridgeconservancy.org
Rick PresnellASU Endowment Representativepresnelrc@email.appstate.edu
Glenda TreadawayDean of Fine and Applied Artstreadwaygj@appstate.edu
Anne FanaticoSustainable Developmentfanaticoac@appstate.edu
Christoffel den BiggelaarSustainable Developmentdenbiggelaa@appstate.edu

Historic Preservation Subcommittee Member List

Subcommittee MemberOrganization or Department
Neva Specht, ChairCollege of Arts and Sciences
Lynn DuryeaDepartment of Art
Eric HieglBlue Ridge Conservancy
Kristen Deathridge,Department of History
Mike Mayfield,Academic Affairs
Chad EverhartDepartment of Technology & Environmental Design